buttermilk skillet cake with fresh strawberries

strawberry skillet cake

After what felt like the longest and coldest winter yet, our town was finally graced with some beautiful weather over the weekend. I’m talking sunny skies, warm breezes, the works! It was the kind of weather that draws grown adults outside to play, that moves birds to sing their morning songs, that inspires flowers to sprout from the soil. It’s amazing the impact that weather has on the living. It has become increasingly evident to me that weather can dictate mood, energy level, and level of happiness. Spring breathes new life into my spirit, and furthermore, it motivates me to be more appreciative of the simpler things in life.

For a moment, I thought said spring weather was here to stay. And in that same moment, I decided to make this cake. Thank goodness I did, because if it weren’t for the wrapped-up leftovers sitting on the counter, I would be convinced that I imagined the beautiful weather in my dreams. Yesterday I wore sandals, but today I wear snow boots. Here’s hoping this is the last snowfall of the season. I’m ready to trade in my winter eats for strawberries and rhubarb and mango (oh my!)

BUTTERMILK SKILLET CAKE with FRESH STRAWBERRIES
from wit and vinegar

I halved this recipe for my 6-inch cast iron skillet, simply because there’s only two of us in this home and I’d hate for any cake to go to waste! The following recipe will work for a  10- or 11-inch cast iron skillet, or even a round cake pan of that size, I’d imagine. Of course, keep in mind that you’ll need to adjust baking times accordingly. 

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder (preferably aluminium free)
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 8oz (1/2 lb) strawberries, hulled and halved
  • 2-3 tablespoons turbinado sugar, for topping
  1. Preheat oven to 400 and grease up a 10″ or 11″ cast iron skillet.
  2. In one bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.
  3. In a second bowl (or measuring cup), combine the eggs, buttermilk, butter, and vanilla.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined, making sure there are no major lumps.
  5. Scrape it all into the prepared cast iron skillet and top with strawberry halves, cut side down. Sprinkle the surface evenly with the turbinado sugar.
  6. Bake for 20-30 min. depending on the size of your skillet (note: when I halved the recipe and baked it in a 6″ skillet, it took 30 minutes). To test cake for doneness, insert a toothpick into the middle of the cake. If the toothpick comes out clean, or with just one or two crumbs, it’s ready!
  7. Serve plain as an afternoon snack, or top with fresh whipped cream or vanilla ice cream for dessert.

 

4 thoughts on “buttermilk skillet cake with fresh strawberries

  1. Marian says:

    Oh Miss Meghan! Strawberries are one of my favorites!!
    That’s it…….I’m off to the kitchen, you’ve inspired me!!
    xo

  2. alydon962 says:

    Looks very yummy!!! Xo

  3. Dod says:

    The only dilemna is you’re there and my appetite is over here, solution overnight one to me now! Keep Calm n Bake On
    Dod

  4. Nancy says:

    ummmm, ummmm good!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

